The Last Exorcism Review

Posted: September 13, 2010 by Flashbox in Movies
Tags: , ,


I did it again. I had promised myself I wouldn’t let it happen but I just couldn’t help it. It was marketed so damn effectively that I couldn’t help but get excited. And when I saw Eli Roth’s name attached, that was the final straw; I was giddy as school girl for “The Last Exorcism” and was convinced that it would live up to it’s billing as “The scariest movie of the year”. Boy was I wrong!

Now, don’t get me wrong. There was plenty of “The Last Exorcism” that I enjoyed. Some scenes were genuinely creepy, the acting was tolerable ( and pretty damn good at times, thanks to Patrick Fabian as the skeptical exorcist Cotton Marcus and Louis Herthum as tormented father Louis Sweetzer) and the scene in which Rev. Marcus shows how he faked the exorcism was fascinating as well as effective. Director Daniel Stamm also did an excellent job as keeping the audience’s attention by keeping it unclear whether the girl is actually possessed or not. For the first 3/4 of the movie, I genuinely enjoyed “The Last Exorcism”.

And then, just as the film presented us with what could have been a great ending twist, the whole thing descends into farce. I’m a fan of ridiculous movies that go in some absurd directions but the finale of “The Last Exorcism” is just terrible. It’s not even that it’s even that weird but it just comes out of nowhere and has nothing to do with the rest of the movie. And the worst part is is that the whole thing is just left in the open with no explanation whatsoever!

If your a fan of supernatural horror, or horror in general, I’d probably still say go check out “The Last Exorcism”. For the first 3/4 it is a pretty good take on the story of a possessed girl and delivers a view genuinely creepy moments. However, maybe wait untill it comes out on dvd as the ending is so frustrating that you will regret spending the ten quid to go see it.

Leave a Reply

