Dave Lombardo: Winter Beats

Posted: December 5, 2010 by Flashbox in Movies, Music
Tags: , , ,

Just stumbled across this sweet little video while checking the morning headlines on Blabbermouth. It’s Dave Lombardo providing the soundtrack to a scene from the latest Volcom Stone snowboard movie, “9191”.

The drums Lombardo has layed down are very different to what you hear on a Slayer record and give us a chance to see that Lombardo still has some tricks up his sleeves. On first watch, I found the video pretty strange (the whole clip has an out there, horror movie, grainy feel to it) and felt that the music didn’t suit it, probably due to the fact that I’ve been brain washed into thinking extreme sports should only be soundtracked by cookie cutter metal bands like 5 finger Death punch. However, after 2 or 3 more watches, I really thought it was a very cool clip that stands out from other clips.

Not being a drummer myself, I can’t comment on how technical what Dave is doing is, but it sounds pretty cool tome and is nice to see that the man doesn’t feel he has to be restricted to the strict style of music Slayer feel. Keep it up Dave!

Also, having tried to snowboard myself, and fail miserably at it, I’m still amazed at the tricks those guys can do. I couldn’t even stop myself sliding down a gently sloping hill, not to ind try getting my head around doing flips down mountains!

Leave a Reply

