The Year in Metal

Posted: December 20, 2010 by Flashbox in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

This year in metal has been one of my favorites. Not only were there some amazing albums released by both legendary acts (Atheist, Nevermore, Exodus) and the stars of the future (Melechesh, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Mar De Grises), but we also got to see history in the making when the “Big 4” took the stage together for the first time and the world finally got to see Metallica and Mustaine on stage together again. However,on a sadder note, we also said goodbye to a number of metal icons throughout the year; icons who will leave a void never to be filled.

For me personally, its been a great year in metal as I finally decided to do something useful and set up this blog, which allowed me to get more involved with the metal community and get in contact with some of my favorite bands. It also gave me the chance to help lesser known bands get some recognition. On top of all that, I got to see more gigs in 2010 than any other year and saw unbelievable performance by Mastodon, High on Fire, Prostitute Disfigurement, Toxocara, Isis, The Melvins and more.

Over the next few days, I will be looking back at the year in metal, giving my personal thoughts on what were the best and worst albums of the year, saying a final goodbye to those we lost and just any other thoughts on the year that may cross my mind. I’ll also be looking ahead to whats on the horizon for 2011. I hope you guys enjoy it and feel free to agree/argue with me on anything i say in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

