“127 Hours” Is Incredible

Posted: January 19, 2011 by Flashbox in Movies
Tags: , ,

Just back from seeing the highly anticipated “127 Hours” and holy crap is it good. Like blow your mind good. Besides Inception it is probably my favorite movie of the last 12 months. Equal parts tragic, inspiring and breath taking it really couldn’t have been any better.

For those of you living under a rock (couldn’t help it), “127 Hours” is the latest flick from super director Danny Boyle (Shallow Grave, Slumdog Millionaire, Trainspotting to name a few of his other movies) and tells the incredible true tale of rock climber Aron Ralston who, while out exploring Robbers Roost, Utah, gets his arm trapped under a boulder for 5 days and cuts his own arm off with a teeny army knife in order to escape.

James Franco(the hilarious pot head from Pineapple Express), who actually bears a physical resemblance to the real life Aron Ralston, gives the performance of his career in “127 Hours” and does an amazing job of portraying the trapped explorer. Franco really manages to form a connection with the viewer (at least he did with me anyway) and gets us to care about Aron, which makes his unenviable predicament even more hard to watch. James expertly depicts Aron’s losing battle with his insanity and his facial expressions and body language are extremely effective throughout.

Going into the film, all I could think of was the now notorious “are cutting off” scene. reports of people passing out during it at the premiere and at various film festivals was, truth be told, which attracted me to the film in the first place (I’m a gore-hound after all!) and I was wondering how gruesome it could really be. the answer: not too bad. Sure, its bloody and there is one particular piece that made me squirm but if you’ve seen any of the Saw films, you’ll have no problem sitting through this scene. However, it is filmed brilliant by Boyle, who gives the scene the realism and seriousness it deserves. I also couldn’t help but be amaze at the fact that Aron actually did this in real life, which was a much more horrible thought for me personally.

With “127 Hours”, Boyle shows why he is one of the world’s most respected directors, with shots and scenes that left me amazed, with the storm scene and the opening credits being my personal favorites. The film was completely different than how I imagined it would be (I really expected “Buried” just taking place in a cave) and his choice of music is inspired.

After I left the cinema I knew I had seen something special.This is a powerful film that will leave you inspired and amazed at the strength of the human spirit and is a film that could be watched over and over. A magnificent triumph for all involved

Comments
  1. ‘For those of you living under a rock?’ Nice one Norman! I’m surprised you managed to resist also saying this film is ‘cutting edge’.🙂

    If you like Franco you should check out Freaks and Geeks, an Apatow show full of similar celebrities pre-celebrity status. Say it’d be your cup of tea.

    • Flashbox says:

      @ Paula: Haha, didn’t even think about it when I was writing it…wish i had though!I’ve heard good things about Freaks and geeks so its definitely on my to watch list!

Leave a Reply

