Nergal Released From Hospital

Posted: January 20, 2011 by Flashbox in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Due to a pretty hectic day of college, I didn’t get a chance to post about this yesterday. However, it is with a huge smile on my face that I can report(to those who may have missed it, which I doubt many of you did) that Behemoth frontman Nergal has been released from hospital following a bone marrow transplant procedure he underwent 4 weeks ago. Here’s an official statement from the man himself:

“Hey! What’s up! At last – one could say. After almost half a year of treatment in various hospitals, several cycles of chemotherapy, irradiation and a bone marrow transplant, I have been finally released home in a pretty fuckin’ good condition. I’m feeling ok, taking the intensity of treatment under consideration. That was not an easy period of my life, but, as I envisioned, I left the hospital victorious. I never considered any other options, but anyway, there were rough moments too… At this point I must express my thanks to the people who made all of those downs fairly bearable. My parents – thank you. You deserve a monument for all your love and patience. Dorotka, thank you for your heroic attitude, love and support. I can’t forget Doda’s fans, who made a gigantic effort for me and other ill people. You rule! Absolutely fantastic Behemoth fans from all over the world were organizing various events to make people aware of what leukemia is. To all of you out there – my deepest respect! Thank you – the real heroes – Prof. Hellmann, Dr. Piekarska, Dr. Knopinska, Doc. Giebel, Prof. Hołowiecki and all the nurses of the hematology division of the Medical Academy in Gdansk and the Oncology Clinic in Gliwice for all the professionalism and great hearts. My band mates for all the friendship and never-ending support. All my friends for sticking to me throughout the whole period of my illness. The list is too long to mention you all, but remember, you have special place in my heart.”

Neragal seemed upbeat about what is going to be a difficult recovery and seems pretty keen to get back to playing and writing some new Behemoth material.

“Although the whole treatment went really good, as well as the bone marrow transplant and the post-transplant period, the next several months is the time when I must really take care of myself. Of course I will have plenty of time to recover, think about the strategy and my return to the stage – which approaches imminently (laughs). First of all however I must rebuild my physical condition… apart from that, I hunger for playing, I haven’t been playing the guitar for a half of year now! Really much to catch up, but also a huge motivation and a desire to work again at the same time. This year will be a really important one for me and the band!”

Its great to see Nergal so upbeat and we wish him a speedy and healthy recovery from everyone here at the Tomb. We also can’t help but be curious as to how this whole experience will affect Nergal’s songwriting and the next Behemoth album. Will it be a more upbeat record since Neragl has survived a potnetially life threatening condition and saw how supportful his family,friends and fans were? Will it be more angry due to the fact that it has robbed him of 2-3 years of his career? Will the lyrics become more philisophical and personal, seeing as he threaded a fine line between life and death? We’ll have to wait some time to discover I imagine but whatever it is, the next release from Nergal and Behemoth will definitely be a vital listen. In the mean time, we send our best wishes to Nergal and all his famliy and friends! Here’s a clip to remind us all of what Nergal and behemoth has brough to the metal community already.

<

Leave a Reply

